Sunday, January 31, 2016

January Wrap Up

A review of the monthly activities on the blog incl. book reviews, memes, reading challenge additions, book hauls
Hey Bookies!

This is my first Wrap Up post! So, I hope I am doing this right ;) 2016 is looking to be a slow book year for me with classes and work but I will try my best to spread the book love!

Books Read:

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace
The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough
The Siren by Martha Brockenbrough

Books Reviewed:

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace
The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough
The Siren by Martha Brockenbrough


New Books:





Book In Progress:

Behold the Bones by Natalie C. Parker

February TBR:

The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins
Behold the Bones by Natalie C. Parker
Into The Dim by Janet Taylor

If you have any suggestions on improving my Wrap Ups for the future posts, comment below.

Happy Reading!

In My Mailbox #17



*In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren which allows bloggers to share what books they bought/received each week.*


Hey Bookies! This week will be the seventeenth time hosting In My Mailbox and I am so excited to share with you what I received in my mailbox recently.

The four books I have this week are all #BooksForTrade. Take a look below:





Purchased:


*If you're interested in the other books that are on my radar you can check out my Amazon Wishlist: Books I Dream About!

Happy Reading!


Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Wishlist Wednesday #67


*Wishlist Wednesday is where you show a book that has been on your wishlist/TBR list for a while, the meme is hosted by Pen to Paper*



Love in the Time of Global Warming by Kat Spears

Publisher
Henry Holt and Co. (BYR); First Edition edition
Release DateAugust 27, 2013
Pages: 240

The Story:

Seventeen-year-old Penelope (Pen) has lost everything―her home, her parents, and her ten-year-old brother. Like a female Odysseus in search of home, she navigates a dark world full of strange creatures, gathers companions and loses them, finds love and loses it, and faces her mortal enemy.
In her signature style, Francesca Lia Block has created a world that is beautiful in its destruction and as frightening as it is lovely. At the helm of Love in the Time of Global Warming is Pen, a strong heroine who holds hope and love in her hands and refuses to be defeated.

-via Amazon





Meet the Author

Francesca Lia Block, recipient of the prestigious Margaret A. Edwards Lifetime Achievement Award. has been publishing novels, short stories, essays, memoirs and poetry since 1989. Her work has been translated into many languages. Ms. Block lives in Los Angeles where she teaches writing workshops that are also available online.



Want to see my entire Wishlist? Check it out on Amazon: Books I Dream About

Happy Reading!


Friday, January 22, 2016

Feature Friday ARC Review : Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace


                                      

*Feature Friday ARC Review is a meme hosted by The Tattered Page to feature YA books that have not yet been released by reviewing them.*


*Warning: This review may contain spoilers. Read at your own risk.

Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publication dateJanuary 26, 2016
Pages368
Source: ARC

The Story:

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.
When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.
Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.
- via Amazon
Rating






My Review

Tag Line:


Her end was just the beginning.


Opening Line:


The first time I killed a man it was an accident.


Plot:


The premise of 
Shallow Graves was definitely a major factor in snagging my attention. Not did you read that opening line? I was hooked from page 1. Teenage girl goes to her party and digs her way out of a shallow grave one year later . . . then kills a man by touching him. I man, what?! Why wouldn't I read this book. And sure enough, I couldn't put it down. I needed to now how the story was going to play out. How, why, did Breezy come back to life?What was she? Who killed her? One of the last things she remembers is leaving the party after her best friend slaps her. Did she have something to do with her murder?


The pacing of 
Shallow Graves was compatible with the story. I didn't feel bogged down by details, lack of details, backstory, and so on and so forth. The timing felt natural and the story flowed. All in all, Wallace's writing was decent, straightforward. I was intrigued with the story and flew through it. However, I feel like I needed more from the ending. There were still so many unanswered questions. On that note, if you aren't afraid of cliffhangers then have at it!

Character Breakdown:


Breezy - Her character was laid-back with a tad bit of interesting. I approach her dream of being an Astronaut but then again, that quality didn't seem to fit her somehow. Overall, if I had to choose a word to personify her it would be: denial.


Meet the Author:



I have been writing fiction my entire life, but for a long time I thought I would be a scientist when I grew up. On my very first day of college I discovered that geology was the one field of study where I could get course credit for hiking and camping, so that's what I picked.


I studied geology and physics all through college and graduate school, eventually earning a PhD in geophysics doing research on Himalayan mountain-building and Indian earthquakes.  

I grew up in Colorado and spent most of my life there, but not that long ago I traded the mountains for the beach and relocated to southern California. 

***Check out Kali Wallace's website for more information about her and Shallow GravesHERE

Happy Reading!


Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Wishlist Wednesday #66


*Wishlist Wednesday is where you show a book that has been on your wishlist/TBR list for a while, the meme is hosted by Pen to Paper*



The Mirk and Midnight Hour by Jane Nickerson

Publisher
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release DateMarch 11, 2014
Pages: 384

The Story:

A Gothic thriller and captivating love story set in Civil War Mississippi
 
Seventeen-year-old Violet Dancey has been left at home in Mississippi with a laudanum-addicted stepmother and love-crazed stepsister while her father fights in the war—a war that has already claimed her twin brother. When she comes across a severely injured Union soldier lying in an abandoned lodge deep in the woods, things begin to change. Thomas is the enemy—one of the men who might have killed her own brother—and yet she’s drawn to him. But Violet isn’t Thomas’s only visitor. Someone has been tending to his wounds—keeping him alive—and it becomes chillingly clear that this care hasn’t been out of compassion. Against the dangers of war and threatening powers of voodoo, Violet fights to protect her home, her family, and the man she’s begun to love.
-via Amazon




Meet the Author

For many years, JANE NICKERSON and her family lived in a big old house in Aberdeen, Mississippi, where she worked as the children's librarian at the local public library. She has always loved the South, "the olden days," gothic tales, houses, kids, writing, and interesting villains. She and her husband now make their home in Ontario, Canada.




Want to see my entire Wishlist? Check it out on Amazon: Books I Dream About

Happy Reading!


Monday, January 18, 2016

Recap : My first ALAMW !



A couple of weeks ago I was fortunate enough to head up to Boston to attend the American Library Association Midwinter 2016 convention for the first time! And I have to say: WHOA! ALA Midwinter was exactly like everyone told me -- it was quite similar to BookExpo America, except a lot more chill. And I absolutely loved it!!! My Guy and I will definitely be heading down to Orlando for ALA Annual this year. 

Anywho, on to the exciting stuff. Being my first time at ALA I did not snap as many photos as I wanted because I was scrambling around and it completely slipped my mind but here is what I managed . . . 


 Day 0: Friday, January 8th


Where we stayed in Boston - thanks for Airbnb

Across from the train station - convenience at its finest



















My Guy resting up before picking up our badges

 Day 1: Saturday, January 9th


The focus of our first day at ALAMW was to gather our bearings and feel our ways through. And to try to get as any of the books from The Kill List as we could. What a magical, exhilarating day it was!
The Exhibit Hall was perfectly laid out

Harlequin Teen booth








The Kill List

Taking a break with my bookish buddy, Grace, from Grace Books of Love
Day 1 Book Haul

Day 2: Sunday, January 10th


Our main goal for Day 2 was to focus on what we missed on The Kill List, plus anything else that caught our eyes.

I spy some authors in the wild ... 
Apparently, My Guy is a Super Reader
Day 2 Book Haul

























Day 3: Monday, January 11th

Monday was our last day in Boston and the last day of ALAMW16. *Insert sad face* So, our main focus was to champion the booth giveaways. And man, did we do well! 

Harper gave away 2 ARCs and 2 hardcovers with the option of returning to the line to have another go. Penguin gave away 3 from PenguinTeen and 3 from Penguin/Randomhouse. All of the other publishers pretty much did the same and gave you what you asked for.
Holy Harper Teen booth!
Magnificent Madness at ALAMW

Sooo many HEAVY bags to lug back home.

Day 3 Book Haul

The Aftermath:

Before
After

Progress . . .
video
Had to put up new shelves #HomeDepotToTheRescue

Lastly, I want to thank all of the publishers for their hard-work and generosity for allowing us book reviewers and librarians the opportunity to meet them, to read such amazing stories and to pass the love of books on to others. I think I can speak for us all when I say we greatly appreciate it!

Did you get a chance to go to ALAMW16? If so, how was it? Link your recap down below. If not, don't worry, I'll be hosting giveaways in the near future :)

Happy Reading!

Sunday, January 17, 2016

In My Mailbox #16



*In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren which allows bloggers to share what books they bought/received each week.*


Hey Bookies! This week will be the sixteenth time hosting In My Mailbox and I am so excited to share with you what I received in my mailbox recently.

Having said that, every couple of weeks or so I use BookSaleFinder.com to attend library book sales in the NY/CT area. This time around I went back to New Rochelle Public Library sale but I didn't much up - which wasn't a surprise, they normally don't get much new stock. Take a look below:




I re-bought The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Beautiful Chaos because the copies I had were paperback and didn't match my hardcovers :)


Purchased:


*If you're interested in the other books that are on my radar you can check out my Amazon Wishlist: Books I Dream About!

Happy Reading!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...