Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Review : Underworld by Meg Cabot

*Warning: This review may contain spoilers. Read at your own risk.

PublisherScholastic, Inc.

Release Date: April 1, 2013
Pages: 336
Source: Own

The Story:

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn't dead.
Not this time.
But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.
Her captor, John Hayden, claims it's for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they've come back as Furies, intent on vengeance . . . on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.
But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there . . . and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.
via Barnes & Noble

FOUR Gold Stars!!!

My Review

Underworld is the second in a trilogy retelling of the Greek myth about Hades and Persephone. I enjoyed the first book, Abandon, so I looked forward to diving into Underworld. And I am happy to say Underworld did not disappoint.

Tag Line:

Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible.

Opening Line:

"Pierce keeps having the most terrible nightmares."


The main premise for the plot in is Pierce's reluctant time in the 
Underworld - readers really see the Hades-Persephone theme. John claims it is for her own safety but she is not entirely convinced. . . But when The Furies who are after Pierce threaten the lives of her family and friend on Earth, Pierce is more eager than ever to get back to her life and those she cares for. 

It is in where readers are really able to see John and Pierce relationship takes some heed. While Pierce finally comes to terms with her feelings for John Hayden, there are half-truth, mysteries and confinements putting a wedge the progression of their relationship.

All in all, Underworld does not disappoint. Usually series corrode as sequels are released but not with the Abandon series. As the story continues it builds momentum and has you begging for more. 

Meet the Author:

Meg Cabot is a #1 New York Times bestselling author of books for both adults and tweens/teens. There have been over 25 million copies of Meg's nearly 80 published books sold in 38 countries. Her last name rhymes with habit, as in "her books can be habit forming." She currently lives in Key West, Florida with her husband and various cats. 

Meg's first ever adult book in the Princess Diaries series, "Royal Wedding", will be available in Summer 2015, along with an installment of the series for younger readers, "From the Notebook of a Middle School Princess". "Remembrance", a new book in the Mediator series will be available in February of 2016.

***Check out Meg Cabot's website for more information about her and the UnderworldHERE

Happy Reading!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...