Monday, May 2, 2016

New YA Releases: Week of May 2nd

 Here are some upcoming releases this week. Release dates sources: Barnes & Noble, Amazon, etc.





The Crown by Kiera Cass

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas


Happy Reading!


Saturday, April 30, 2016

Review : A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

*Warning: This review may contain spoilers. Read at your own risk.

Publisher
Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release DateMay 5, 2015
Pages: 448
Source: Won

The Story:

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.
via Amazon

Rating







One-word Review SPELLBINDING

Reading Tune We are the Hearts by EXGF

Tag Line:


The She stole a life.

Now she must pay with her heart.

Opening Line:

The forest had become a labyrinth of snow and ice.

My Review


Plot:


A Court of Thorns and Roses is the best book I have read in a long while! If you have not read A Court of Thorns and Roses yet, now is the time to get your ass on Amazon and order a copy -- and the sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury, while you are at it!

YAS! Just yes! I went into A Court of Thorns and Roses not knowing what to expect from the New Adult retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I am not a fan of New Adult. Or faeries for that matter, which I found out were a large part of the book after I was already in love. Having said that, the plot was much more than the classic Beauty and the Beast tale. There was war being evil Faeries and human, the threat of an powerful, ancient foe. A slow-burning, then passionate affair.

A Court of Thorns and Roses pacing was perfect. At no point did I feel the story drag. Maas' writing was phenomenal! This is the first book written by Maas that I have read and I fell in love with her writing. I do not know why I waited so long to read A Court of Thorns and Roses but I am glad I did! A Court of Thorns and Roses is my favorite book of 2016. The world-building was wonderful, I felt immersed in a different realm. I could not put the story down!

All in all, you need to read A Court of Thorns and Roses. Like yesterday. It is such an enchanting tale, a brilliant twist on Beauty and the Beast. I promise, you will not regret it. 

Character Breakdown:


The characters jumped off the page. They were so well written, fleshed out. Their personality were all different and bright and worked well together.


Feyre  - Feyre is a fierce, clever, kick-ass character while still managing to be soft, feminine, witty. She was also selfless and loyal and loved her family even when they did not exactly deserve it.

Tamlin - Man, did I love me some of Tamlin! So sexy, rugged, stoic. TeamTamlin all the way!



"This was such a lovely dream. I'd never slept so wonderfully before. So warm, nestled beside him. Calm. Faintly, echoing into my world of slumber, he spoke again, his breath caressing my ear. "You're exactly as I dreamed you'd be, too.'"- pages 212

Meet the Author:








Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series. A New York City native, Sarah currently lives in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, with her husband and dog.

***Check out Sarah J. Maas' website for more information about her and A Court of Thorns and RosesHERE






Happy Reading!


Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Teaser Tuesday #15



Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just flip through your current read to a random page -- or not -- and share two teaser quotes from somewhere on said page.
This week my Teaser Tuesday quotes will be taken from my current read, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.


Teaser #1:

"Inside that hissing voice I'd heard the screaming of human victims, the pleading of young maidens whose chests had been split open on sacrificial altars." - page 181
Teaser #2:

"'You drove me mad,' he growled, and the sound trembled down my neck, along my breasts until they ached. 'I searched for you, and you weren't there. When I didn't find you,' he said, brining his face closer to mine, until we shared breath, 'it made me pick another." - page 196

What teasers are you sharing this week?

Don't forget to tell me in the comments or on twitter; @TheTatteredPage. You can also use #ACOTAR on twitter if you're reading it! 
Happy Reading!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...